Cross-border telework in the EU, the EEA and Switzerland

Framework agreement on cross-border telework

Belgium acts as depository state for the Framework Agreement on the application of Article 16 (1) of Regulation (EC) No. 883/2004 in cases of habitual cross-border telework.

On this page, the following documents are published and kept up to date:

  • the text of the framework agreement and its explanatory memorandum;
  • the list of the signatory states of the framework agreement, as well as the date from which the framework agreement applies in each of the states concerned;
  • the copies of the framework agreement as signed by the parties.

The framework agreement facilitates between the signatory states the conclusion of individual derogations in the interest of a category of employed teleworkers and their employer(s), provided that certain conditions are met.

A request may be submitted for the employee to be subject to the social security legislation of the State of registered office or place of business of his/her employer in case that:

  • his/her State of Residence is other than is the State of registered office or place of business of his/her employer, and
  • his/her cross-border telework in the State of residence is less than 50% of the total working time and
  • the request is made in consent by employer and employee.

If you have any practical questions about the implementation of this framework agreement, please contact the corresponding competent institution mentioned in the list below.

The framework agreement on habitual cross-border telework is the result of discussions and work carried out within an Ad Hoc working group of the Administrative Commission for the Coordination of Social Security Systems. The task of the Administrative Commission is to ensure the proper implementation of the regulations on the coordination of social security systems.

These regulations 883/2004 and 987/2009 are essential to ensure the free movement of persons within the European Union, the European Economic Area (EEA) and Switzerland, in that they lift the obstacles for mobile citizens by safeguarding their social security rights irrespective of the State in which they work, reside or stay.

Signatory States Date of
entry into force
Signed agreements Competent institution
Belgium 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) National Social Security Office
Czechia 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) Czech Social Security Administration
Germany 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) GKV-Spitzenverband, Deutsche Verbindungsstelle Krankenversicherung - Ausland 
Ireland 1 June 2024 Agreement (.pdf) Department of Social Protection
Spain 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) Tesorería General de la Seguridad Social (TGSS)
France 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) Union pour le recouvrement des cotisations de sécurité sociale et d'allocations familiales (URSSAF), Mutualité sociale Agricole (MSA) 
Croatia 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) Croatian Pension Insurance Institute
Italy 1 January 2024 Agreement (.pdf) Ministry of Labor and Social Policies
Lithuania  1 May 2024 Agreement (.pdf) Vilnius Branch of the State Social Insurance Fund Board
Luxembourg 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) Centre commun de la sécurité sociale 
Malta 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) Department of Social Security
Netherlands 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) Sociale Verzekeringsbank
Austria 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) Dachverband der Sozialversicherungsträger (the Federation of Social insurances)
Poland 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) Social Insurance Institution – Zaklad Ubezpieczen Spolecznych ZUS
Portugal 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) Institute of Social Security
Slovenia 1 September 2023 Agreement (.pdf) Ministry Of Labour, Family, Social Affairs And Equal Opportunities of the Republic of Slovenia
Slovakia 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) Ministry of Labour, Social Affairs and Family
Finland 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) Finnish Centre for Pensions
Sweden  1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) Försäkringskassan (Social Insurance Agency)
Norway 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) NAV Social Insurance and Contributions
Switzerland 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) Bundesamt für Sozialversicherungen - Anwendbare Rechtsvorschriften
Liechtenstein 1 July 2023 Agreement (.pdf) Office of Public Health (Amt für Gesundheit)


Only countries that have officially signed the framework agreement are included in the above list.

Others have also indicated their intention to sign it and will be added to the list as soon as their official signature is received by the depository state.

The following countries have indicated that they will not sign the framework agreement: the United Kingdom.